Janet’s Jottings – June 2017

Tyres have been on my mind.  First, I needed some and secondly a conversation I had.

On checking tread depth look for a bar that runs across the tyre between tread pattern (or wiggly bits as one student said).  That bar is 1.6 mm high, the legal minimum.  Replace tyres before they get that low.  Even tread across the central three quarters of the tyre.  Power steering makes turning easier but keep the car moving, dry steering will cause bald patches. Hard road surface v. softer rubber.  Imagine an ice skater doing a pirouette! If you bang the kerb hard, it will cause a bulge and affect tyre wear, tracking etc.  Only takes a minute to check all these things.

The conversation, “do you check your tyre pressures?”, answer “don’t need to the car tells me.”

From a safety point of view all that’s sticking your car to the road are four, footprint sized pieces of rubber. . The penalty for breaking this law is a fine of up to £2,500 and three penalty points per illegal tyre – so you could face a £10,000 bill and 12 points if all four tyres are illegal.

Keep your tyres in good conditions (and personally I wouldn’t wait for the car to tell me they are not!)

Safe travelling

Janet

077I3 646461                            Driving Aspirations, helping drive your aspirations

